Nobel Prizes for the year 2008 are announced

Nobel prizes were announced in October 2008 (the last one on October 13th). The winners are

Physiology or Medicine

shared by German researcher Harald zur Hausen and two French researchers Françoise  Barré-Sinoussi and Luc Montagnier

Physics –

shared by American Professor Yoichiro Nambu (University of Chicago)and Japanese researchers Makoto Kobayashi and Toshihide Maskawa (Kyoto University)


American professors Osamu Shimomura (Boston University), Martin Chalfie (Columbia University) and Roger Y. Tsien (UC San Diego)


American Professor Paul Krugman (Princeton University)

Literature –

French author Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio


Former President of Finalnd Martti Ahtisaari

America and Europe continue to dominate, though Asian presence is slowly being felt; one hopes one day it will reach the Indian shores too

%d bloggers like this: